The August Project. 8/4/13 Loon watch on the Lower Saranac Lake.

I missed the sunrise while sleeping soundly in my hammock. Feeling the cool breeze on my face, I chose to lay comfortable in the warmth of my sleeping bag a bit longer. I lay there staring at the water, listening to the birds and the sounds of the small waves lapping on shore, and thinking to myself again how much I love being in this place.

The filtered view of the lake through my bug net.
The filtered view of the lake through my bug net.

After an hour of quietly enjoying nature, I finally caved to the early morning chill and crawled out of my sleeping bag. My camping partner was getting the fire going for us to partake in our traditional camp breakfast of bacon and eggs cooked in a paper bag (no really, this works). I wandered about for a bit to snap some photos before getting by baggie ready for cooking.

The paper bag bacon and egg.
The paper bag bacon and egg.

While cooking, we talked about the plans for the day. We were already on Saranac Lake, so we figured we should enjoy it for a while. The sun was peeking through the clouds and the chill on the breeze was warming. Breakfast cooked and consumed, we packed up camp and headed out on the water.

8-4-13 (37)

Our plan was to simply enjoy our time buzzing around the islands and hope to find some Loons. It’s no mystery to the people who know me that I have an affinity for this bird. Their vocals, beauty, and family structure amaze me. We settled into Loon Bay, turned off the engine, and watched for a Loon family we had seen a few times before. Off in the distance we could see the mother and her offspring so we took some time to take photos of them while waiting for the third to return with food for his young.

The loon family in Loon Bay.
The loon family in Loon Bay.

We soaked up the sun as it peeked through the clouds, watched the Loon family, and I took a quick nap before we decided it was time to head back to the boat launch. It was the perfect end to another amazing Adirondack Coast weekend.

 

Ampersand Mountain from the Lower Saranac Lake.
Ampersand Mountain from the Lower Saranac Lake.
One thought on “The August Project. 8/4/13 Loon watch on the Lower Saranac Lake.

Leave a Reply

