The August Project. 8/3/13 Camping the Lower Saranac Lake

It was time again to pack up the camping gear and head out to my favorite camping spot on the islands of the Lower Saranac Lake. My camping partner and I still had to work the day, but planned ahead and brought all of our gear along with us. To save time, we chose to go with a more gasoline powered means of getting to our campsite.

The fastest trip I've ever taken on Saranac Lake
The fastest trip I’ve ever taken on Saranac Lake

I am more suited to the human-powered mode of transporting myself to a campsite, but since we didn’t arrive at the boat launch until 6:30, this proved to be the best plan of action. The site we had for the evening is one that I have been trying to get for years. It is one of the few sites available with a lean-to and has perfect views to the west for the setting sun and the east for the sunrise.

8-3-13 (29)

We managed to unload all of our belongings and set up camp before a quick passing rain shower rolled in. The quick burst of rain followed by a clear open sky made for some perfect photo opportunities of a huge, brightly colored rainbow that popped up to our east.

8-3-13 (28)

Feeling thankful for this beautiful backdrop, we prepared our dinner while listening for the familiar call of the loons. With our short evening over and full bellies, we called it a night. I settled into my hammock as a few raindrops began to tap against my rain fly. In the distance the loons began to call, lulling me to sleep.

8-3-13 (38)

One thought on “The August Project. 8/3/13 Camping the Lower Saranac Lake

Leave a Reply

