What I did today on the Adirondack Coast…… Hit the Summit of Lyon Mountain!

You may have read about a month ago about a journey I took to reach the summit of Lyon Mountain in the winter. Lyon Mountain won that time, but this time I was a bit more prepared. A friend had asked that I join her on a trip up Lyon Mountain today. She was going to journey up with a friend of hers that I knew only as a Lyon Mountain fanatic who just also happens to be an ADK 46r. Naturally my first thought was….well….. make sure he doesn’t kill me. I was fortunate on this trip to have someone along that had been up Lyon Mountain so many times in the past . We went completely off script and headed up what he claimed to be a much less traveled trail. I knew it must go somewhere because of the ski marks along the route. Lyon Mountain is a very popular snowshoe and Ski mountain. I warn you now, Skiing Lyon is not at all for the faint of heart. I could only imagine the pure stamina needed to strap skins to your skis and travel up. I personally am much better suited to my snowshoes in any mountain condition.

The three of us had hiked along for about two to two and a half hours before we made it to a small outcrop with a fair view of our destination. The summit of Lyon seemed far off in the distance and much much higher than we were at our outcrop. My blood was pumping. I was ready to go! I let this mountain beat me once already, but not this time!

The summit of Lyon Mountain as seen from out first outcrop.

 As with any wintery ADK hike, this was itself a winter wonderland. The trees covered in thick layers of frost and snow were familiar. Lyon Mountain stands tall in the northeast of the Adirondacks. The this snow and frost layers clung only to the prevailing side of the short pines making them lean over under the weight. I am awe struck by the beauty of the Adirondack Coast every time I go out. Lyon Mountain was no exception.

Best part! This time I can tell you all that I made it to the top. I didn’t leave my snowshoes behind and trudged up the trail less traveled. We couldn’t see far off into the distance with the cloud cover of the day, but just making it after being turned away one month ago is an accomplishment all it’s own.

Lyon Mountain has it’s challenges, but they are all worth the effort. The snow was around 4′ deep and the terrain was steep in many places, but the pure thrill of accomplishment in any hike big or small is well worth it.

I can’t wait to hear about your own experiences along the Adirondack Coast. Feel free to call me to come along!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “What I did today on the Adirondack Coast…… Hit the Summit of Lyon Mountain!

  1. Wonderful pics! I have not been up there in years! I too have hiked and camped on that mtn in winter with snow up to my waist 🙂 It is a wonderful spot. A friend of mine and I used to sled down part of it as well 🙂

  2. That looks like an awesome hike/shoe! What a winter wonderland! I will have to get Lyon Mountain on my list of “winter things to do!” Very Nice! I am a fan!!!

  3. FYI, a crazy carpet is a very important addition to any winter pack! It makes the trip down much faster for minimal additional weight.

Leave a Reply

